Fundraising · Training

Training Update #3: End of Base Training + 5K Test

I have good news and I have bad news.

The good news is that base training is FINISHED!

Achievement
It feels like I reached the top of a mountain peak, especially with this month’s hardships.

… The bad news is that there are no runs that are less than 3 miles from here on out.

 

This previous week has been quite the challenge. I went from taking a week-long break from bronchospasms to trying to regain some sense of normalcy in both my professional and personal life. I also knew that if I let too many weeks go by, I would really set myself back, so I gave myself the week to work my way back up to running 45 minutes.

It has been a bit of a struggle, but I have found a way to do it! I found this awesome mask on Amazon and it makes me look absolutely crazy. Click here to watch a little vlog about that!

Because of this mask, I no longer worry about the hazards of breathing in polluted air. I am probably going to use this mask during the half-marathon, as well, so be on the lookout for me in October!

I am excited to say that I have successfully finished the 5K test at the end of base training. I am running at a pretty darned slow pace, but I can only improve from here! Take a look at my week’s progress:

Update3
Please excuse my slow times, but hey, I am staying consistent, here!

One thing that I find amazing is that this is the first time I have ever intentionally run such a distance. Everything else from here on out will be uncharted territory for me. I will definitely be keeping up with strength training and stretching to minimize my tendency to get injured.

 

I cannot do what I am doing without the support from you. Thank you for reading and I please consider visiting my fundraiser page by clicking on the image or link below and give $50 to a child in need, today:

$50 banner

Click here to donate $50 to one child for LIFETIME water and health.

Thank you for reading, Friend. If this is your first time at my blog, please feel free to visit my “Start Here” page in order to learn more about why I am doing this whole blogging and training thing in the first place!

Leave a Reply

