Fundraising · Reflection

Education is a Life Changer

We’ve already established that I was a terrible student when I was growing up. We don’t need to continue on about how I would claim to have “forgotten” my homework or how I would drop my progress reports behind the couch so my parents wouldn’t know about my grades.

(Sorry, Mom!)

I loved to learn and was always knowledge-hungry while growing up. I was quite the nerd. I was so strange, the other kids in class knew I was a little “off” and would have a hard time connecting with me. I don’t blame them. My idea of fun during free time was to sit in the loneliest corner of the classroom and read ahead in our science textbook or think to myself … aloud. Learning was awesome and it felt great to keep up in conversations with older kids and adults. Unfortunately, the system that facilitated my learning definitely wasn’t a good fit for me. My chances of going to a high-ranking university diminished as I continued to get average-to-low grades toward my last years in high school.

reading-ahead-e1500884451459.jpeg
This was me, and that textbook was my forcefield against any semblance of a social life at school.

Luckily, in the United States, we have options surrounding further education. There are community colleges, vocational schools, and local state campuses. I went to my local state university, which was only about fifteen minutes away from my home, so I enrolled in a 4-year program. Funny story is, my greatest experiences were not succeeding in my classes. Again, the traditional learning model in our country’s education system did not actually facilitate my knowledge base. My interaction with fellow peers were much more effective at teaching me skills I would continue to use, today.

When I started university, I was depressed, self-deprecating, and feeble. I did not have a backbone and floated about. During my first year, I somehow found a student organization called InterVarsity Christian Fellowship and joined it. Slowly, I met a group of welcoming and influential people who not only engaged with me in terms of my faith, but also as a human. I was challenged to consider stepping out of comfort and get involved with leadership. It was a bumpy road, but combined with my higher-level classes, it was the perfect environment for me to thrive, intellectually. I discovered that I learned best by applying lessons toward actual situations.

These days, I can say that I am significantly more confident and I seek to be a positive influence in my community. Although I stumbled through school most of my life, I was given multiple chances to thrive. I gained intellectual knowledge, a valuable network, and a career because I had the right to go to school. You, my friend, have most likely received this gift as well.

Unfortunately, in some rural communities, a child’s potential may be wasted on finding basic resources just for survival. Precious hours that could go toward that child’s growth are squandered on treacherous treks to retrieve toxic water, which will still make her ill.

Follow Naomi’s story as she tells us about how clean water changed her fate as a mother and what it will mean for her children’s future:

A donation of $50 or more will bring one child a lifetime of clean water. This water not only means the elimination of preventable diseases, but a bright future for that child to become an influencer in our global community. Please consider visiting my fundraiser page by clicking on the image or link below and give the gift of education to a child, today:

$50 banner

Click here to donate $50 to one child for LIFETIME water and health.

Thank you for reading, Friend. If this is your first time at my blog, please feel free to visit my “Start Here” page in order to learn more about why I am doing this whole blogging and training thing in the first place!

Leave a Reply

