Fundraising · Reflection

Water is Currency for Life

Hi, everyone. For me, it has been a rough week full of stress, uncertainty, and excitement. I apologize for not keeping up with my posts but have confidence that I am still in the running (Ha! Get it?). Stay tuned because I will be rolling out a special campaign soon, toward September!

Today, I will be talking about my favorite pastime when things get a little hectic. Some folks go out and have a night out with loved ones and friends, others curl up in bed and take a fat nap, and most of us would rather not admit to the late-night binges on Netflix. For myself, my go-to stress-reliever is teatime.

teatime.jpeg
Green, black, oolong, white, herbal … I don’t discriminate.

I confess, I am a total tea snob. My roommates recently moved out and along with them, went the water kettle. So, I continued without my beloved tea for a couple weeks. I know, I know, I could just boil water on the stove with a pot (actually, that also went with the roommates) or microwave some hot water in a mug. But … there’s just something about a dedicated device that makes it so much more convenient and serious. I know, I am spoiled and I have to own up to my privilege. Anyway, I happened to be strolling through the housewares section of my favorite ethnic market and noticed a fancy programmable water kettle for 16 dollars!

So I bought it. And I had tea. Lots of tea.

As we all know, many of our routines involve clean, running water. Even to prepare my new water kettle, I had to boil 3 kettle’s worth of water and dump it because of the chemicals used to preserve the materials for transit. The maximum capacity is 1.7 liters, so 3 kettle’s worth of water is about 5.1 liters or 1.3 gallons. Here are some other activities we do in our daily lives and the water usage from them:

Showering: 2 gallons per minute with low-flow showerheads. For a 10-minute shower, that’s 20 gallons of water.

Flushing the toilet: At best, 1.6 gallons per flush. On average, most toilets use about 3 gallons.

Washing the dishes by hand: 8 – 27 gallons, depending on the efficiency of the person washing the dishes.

 

Water Splash
Have you considered the abundance we have in our almost-free access to water?

 

Of course, there are many, many more places in which water is a necessity. Consider our belongings. In the manufacturing process, most machines would need some sort of cooling system and cleaning procedure, at the least. So each product we own represents water usage, as well. I don’t mean to sound like Ms. Save-the-Earth. I am also guilty of being wasteful and could work on being a more responsible steward. However, I will not be focusing on how wasteful we are as a society. Instead, I would like to focus on the abundance we have in our daily lives.

For an average African villager who needs to walk miles to collect water for the day, it takes several hours to collect about 40 pounds of water. According to my Best Friend Google, that is only about 5 gallons. How much could you envision yourself doing if you only had a ration of 5 gallons a day for yourself and your family?

As you can see, if someone needed more water, they would need to spend even more time collecting rather than investing in growing food, raising a family, working, or going to school. That is a lot of potential that is being wasted on just meeting something that should be a basic human right.

You can join me in changing reality for these communities. Give the gift of water by visiting my fundraiser page. Click on the image or link below and give $50 to a child in need, today:

$50 banner

Click here to donate $50 to one child for LIFETIME water and health.

Thank you for reading, Friend. If this is your first time at my blog, please feel free to visit my “Start Here” page in order to learn more about why I am doing this whole blogging and training thing in the first place!

Leave a Reply

